Red Robyn Review

EDIT: 28/4/19: Red Robyn has since closed and been replaced by another intolerance friendly cafe. Stay tuned for a blog review about this new store, Foddies!

Although already listed in my Dining Out When You’re Low FODMAP blog post, Red Robyn is just so special it deserves its own post. The food, the staff, the decor – everything is so cosy and perfect! Their menu comes with handy symbols to let you know if the food is FODMAP-Friendly (“FD”), vegan (“V”), fructose-friendly (“F”) or if it can be made FODMAP-Friendly (“F*”). I was lucky enough to discover it very early on in my FODMAP journey and it’s made life so easy. Somewhere to go on a date? Sorted! Girl’s brunch? Sorted! Quick snack? Sorted!

Most of their brunch items are around the $19 (AUD) mark, so it can be a bit pricey but you will be leaving there with a very full, but very happy stomach.thumb_img_6310_1024

My regular go-to meal is not actually on the menu, but is comprised of adding all the sides together… Poached eggs on GF toast, bacon, wilted spinach. The bread: crunchy, thick, moist. Perfection. The bacon, the priciest side (coming in at over $5) is made of super thick slices, cooked just the way I like it – you make the decision to see if it’s worth the price tag. The spinach, if I’m honest, is so that I feel better about the bacon. Although it’s well-made, it’s definitely not the feature of the meal 😉

Recently I thought to myself how ridiculous it was that I was raving about this amazing brunch place without having actually tried more of their foods, so I forced myself into the big scary world, and chose off the ready-made FODMAP menu – zucchini waffle with poached eggs, roast tomato, cottage cheese and beetroot relish (FODMAP-Friendly serves, of course). So pretty it deserves two photos.

But Instagram potential aside, it was also delicious – even after my beetroot panic (hey, it’s listed as a red light on the Monash FODMAP app! Turns out, two slices are green, who knew!)

p1000817And for the first time, I also braved the dessert counter, buying not one, but TWO tarts – lemon curd (obviously), and chocolate. The crust is exceptionally thick and the fillings are rich, especially the lemon. But as a lemon fiend, I persevered (all in the name of science, naturally) and was surprised to find I had no.pain. for the first time in a very, very long time. So long in fact that I had forgotten that it wasn’t normal to be sore after dessert.p1000818

I sampled the chocolate one too, and have to say that it did sit a little heavy in my stomach, but the taste was delicious? I would avoid it if you’re still in the elimination phase. Or don’t. Because chocolate.

As is hardly surprising, I will 100% be going back there to spend all my money. $19 might be a lot, but I justify it by not being in pain for the next few days! It’s rare to find restaurants where FODMAP-Friendly options are given to you on a silver platter (or just a pretty circular plate), and rarer still for that food to be delicious.

2 thoughts on “Red Robyn Review

Leave a comment